Posted by: liveformercy | July 8, 2012

Life Is A Crazy Ride That Will Throw You Off If You Don’t Hold On Tight

Awful Beautiful Life

Life really is a crazy ride that’ll throw you off if you don’t hold on tight. I’m just in a reflective mood tonight. My sister convinced me to be a subject for her photos tonight. It was a beautiful night out at the park. But as I was looking at the pictures, it got me thinking of what God sees when he looks at me. So often I look at myself in a picture and think, “Oh my…I need to lose weight, my hair doesn’t look good at all, I’m as pale as a ghost, I don’t look good at all (despite how long I stand in front of the mirror trying to “fix” me). But then the thought occurred to me that even before I wake up in the morning, Jesus is looking down at me, and thinking, “Man, she is beautiful. I died for her, I love her so much.” What??? Something doesn’t add up. Why is it that us as humans get so caught up in our outward appearance? Jesus sees straight through the outward mess and inside of us. Granted, He thinks I’m breathtaking inside and out, but still. I find myself thinking a lot about the verses in the new testament where Paul talks about our flesh doing the things we don’t really want to do and not doing the things we really want to do. Being a Christian in an imperfect world is certainly a challenge. I mean, being human is hard enough. But then again, as humans, many Christians (and I’m certainly guilty of this) make things so much more complicated than they need to be or were intended to be. A pastor I heard preach while I was at Mercy one time said, “Love God, then do what you want.” In a sense, I get where he is going….If we truly loved God they way He deserves with perfect obedience, we could do whatever we want without fear of sinning. Until we reach Heaven, I’m not sure that’s possible here on earth. But the holy spirit is on the inside of us for just that purpose. Sometimes I like to think the holy spirit is to help us hold  tight so the crazy ups and downs of life won’t throw us off (and to help us up if they do.)

Leave a Reply

Categories

